The Bharatiya Janata Party has given place to two big faces of Punjab in the national executive. Union ministers Hardeep Puri and Som Prakash have got the place. Hardeep Puri had contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Amritsar but had to face defeat. Som Prakash is the MP from Hoshiarpur.

BJP President JP Nadda announced the 80-member national executive on Thursday. Big faces like Maneka Gandhi and Vinay Katiyar, including Varun Gandhi, who raised their voice in favor of farmers, have been left out. In the new executive, BJP’s top leadership Prime Minister Modi, key Union ministers including Amit Shah, and veterans LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi have also been given place.

At the same time, in view of the upcoming assembly elections, two faces have been included from Punjab. Union minister Hardeep Puri and BJP MP from Hoshiarpur Som Prakash have also been included in the national executive as Sikh faces. Hardeep Puri is from Punjab and is the Sikh face in the Modi cabinet.

Hardeep Puri had contested the last Lok Sabha election from Amritsar but had to face defeat. Despite this, he was made a Union Minister in the Modi government. At the same time, Som Prakash is the MP from Hoshiarpur. Som Prakash belongs to the Scheduled Caste category. Politicians believe that the BJP has tried to give a strong base to the party in 2022 by including the faces of Punjab in the national executive. Even before this, at the central level, ministers have been given big responsibilities in the Modi government regarding elections.

After about three years, in the restructuring of the new executive, this time leaders from other parties have been included, in which prominent names are Jyotiraditya Scindia, Mithun Chakraborty, Dinesh Trivedi, etc. The new executive, the main deliberative body of the party, has 50 special invitees and 179 permanent invitees in addition to 80 regular members.

Apart from the newly arrived Ashwini Vaishnav in the Union Cabinet, the Chief Ministers, Deputy Chief Ministers, Legislature Party leaders in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Councils, former Chief Ministers-Deputy Chief Ministers, National Spokespersons, State In-charges-cum-in-charges, State Presidents have been given a place in the executive. . The meeting of the National Executive will be held in Delhi on 7th November. Earlier, the last meeting of the executive was held in January 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here