Shiromani Akali Dal President Sukhbir Singh Badal has announced six more candidates. The SAD has fielded Jagmeet Singh Brar from Nemaud Mandi, Jeet Mohinder Singh from Talwandi Sabo, Suba Singh from Jaito, Mantar Singh Brar from Kotkapura, Roji Barkandi from Muktsar and Parambans Singh Bunty Romanal from Faridkot.

Shiromani Akali Dal on Tuesday announced six more candidates for the assembly elections. In Bathinda district, Jagmeet Singh Brar from Maud Mandi and Jeet Mohinder Singh from Talwandi Sabo will be SAD candidates. On the other hand, Roji Barkandi will contest from Muktsar on a SAD ticket. On the other hand, the SAD also declared its candidates for all three assembly seats in Faridkot. The party has bet on Youth Akali Dal’s National President Parambans Singh Bunty Romana from Faridkot seat, party’s district president and former MLA Mantar Singh Brar from Kotkapura, and Suba Singh Badal from Jaito reserved seat.

All three leaders have also tried their luck on the Akali Dal ticket in the 2017 assembly elections and all three had finished third. Although Bunty Romana and Suba Singh Badal had contested elections for the first time at that time, Mantar Singh Brar has represented Kotkapura thrice.

Earlier, the name of former MP from Kotkapura assembly constituency Jagmeet Singh Brar was discussed, but on Wednesday, the party has declared him as the candidate from Maur Mandi. Jagmeet Singh Brar also has a base in Kotkapura, as his younger brother, Ripjit Singh Brar, once represented Kotkapura for the Congress and defeated Mantar Singh Brar at that time. In the 2017 elections, the Akali Dal had suffered a crushing defeat from Faridkot, Kotkapura, and Jaito seats. At present, the Faridkot seat is with the Congress, while the Kotkapura and Jaito seats are held by the Aam Aadmi Party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here