There are guidelines of the Supreme Court on the appointment of DGP. According to this, the DGP can only look like that whose name will be passed by the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission). He should have at least two years of service left. If a DGP goes on leave, and acting DGP can be posted in his place.

Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi has started the exercise to persuade Navjot Singh Sidhu, the state president of Punjab Congress who is angry. After the controversy over the appointment of the DGP, the government has sent a panel of names of 10 senior officers to the UPSC for the new police chief. Apart from acting DGP Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota, who was targeted by Sidhu, the name of DGP Dinkar Gupta is also included in the panel.

Apart from these two names, the names of senior IPS Siddharth Chattopadhyay, VK Bhavra, MK Tiwari, Prabod Kumar, Rohit Chaudhary, Sanjeev Kalda, Parag Jain, and BK Uppal are included. Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu is in discussion these days about his resignation.

Sidhu is upset with Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi over the appointment of caretaker DGP and AG. However, efforts are being made by the Chief Minister to persuade Sidhu. On Thursday, Sidhu also had a two-hour meeting with Chief Minister Channi at Punjab Bhawan, after which efforts have been started on behalf of the Chief Minister to address Sidhu’s displeasure. Under this, a panel of names of 10 senior officers has been sent to the UPSC on Friday for the permanent appointment of the new DGP by the government.

Dinkar Gupta wants to go to the center
After the resignation of Captain Amarinder Singh, there were speculations that Dinkar Gupta could be removed from the post of DGP. He had applied for deputation to the center as soon as the captain was removed. After that, they have gone on leave for a month. It is being told that Gupta’s name has been included on the basis of seniority.

One of these will become the DGP of Punjab
Dinkar Gupta
Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota
Siddharth Chattopadhyay
VK Bhavra
MK Tiwari
Prabod Kumar
Rohit Chaudhary
Sanjeev Kalda
Parag Jain
BK Uppal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here